Pray with Purpose & Intensity

Question: If you were in a desperate situation and needed help, how would you want people to respond?

I would want people to recognize that without their help and intervention, the desperate situation I’m in will only get worse.

Case in point: When someone shares a request for help on Facebook, like the report of a missing teenager, or someone suffering with a critical disease, how do you respond?

I have caught myself posting the common, “Praying!!!!” response, but am I really PRAYING EXCLAMATION POINT, EXCLAMATION POINT, EXCLAMATION POINT.

I had to admit this morning that I have not been interceding this way lately, and I repented.

I lifted up my prayer to God on behalf of the missing teenager as if she were my child. I cried out, knowing how desperately I would want my daughter kept safe and returned to me unharmed. I asked the Lord to protect and keep her from all evil, and that if she had run away, her heart would be softened to call her family and ask them to come get her.

Next I prayed for a precious 4 year old little boy battling cancer. Of course I would want my child healed! What loving parent wouldn’t? I asked God to heal him and give him back strength, health and wholeness. I prayed that God will strengthen and encourage the child’s parents, knowing how helpless they must feel watching their child suffer.

I identified with each of the people I prayed for, imagining what would want the Lord to do for me in a similar situation.

We serve an awesome, powerful and GENEROUS God, who wants us to pray about everything! (See also Luke 18:1-7)

So be bold in prayer! Ask for God’s best and highest when you are praying on behalf of others, keeping in mind that you may be the link in the prayer chain that helps bring good, or more accurately, GOD, into a bad situation.

I’m leaving you with 2 scriptures that confirm the truth of this principle. Be a warrior with God in prayer! He will honor your passion & faith!

Blessings!

“Confess to one another therefore your faults (your slips, your false steps, your offenses, your sins) and pray [also] for one another, that you may be healed and restored [to a spiritual tone of mind and heart]. The earnest (heartfelt, continued) prayer of a righteous man makes tremendous power available [dynamic in its working].” James 5:16 Amplified Bible

Yes,truth is lacking; And he who turns aside from evil makes himself a prey.
Now the Lord saw, And it was displeasing in His sight that there was no justice.
 And He saw that there was no man,
And was astonished that there was no one to intercede;
Then His own arm brought salvation to Him, And His righteousness upheld Him.” (Isaiah 59:15-16)

strength for the battle

2 comments

  1. Tim Shey · September 7

    Here is a little more on intercession:

    https://hitchhikeamerica.wordpress.com/2013/09/30/intercession/

    Like

Leave a Reply

