Mind Control

negative-thoughts-2784432

We can’t control the thoughts that pop into our heads, but we can control what we allow to stay there:

“We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.”  2 Corinthians 10:5 NIV

You do not have to dwell on dark lies and half-truths. You can reject thoughts of abandonment, loneliness, fear & hate. The enemy of your soul wants you to believe that you are hopeless, helpless and without a future– but that is not what God says!

Rather than meditating on thoughts that bring death & condemnation, that feed fear and unbelief, renew your mind with God’s word. What He says is truth!

“Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.” Romans 12:2 NIV

This is a process that takes time and effort but the reward is worth it. I used to be consumed with fear, anxiety and doubts, never certain  that God had truly forgiven me…wondering if He really loved me and if He would stick around even when I messed up. 

confusion

I had a choice. I could stay confused, anxious and full of doubt, or I could take a leap of faith and believe God. I could choose to accept what He has revealed about about Himself in the scriptures, what He says about me and about my circumstances, or I could reject truth and harden my heart.

I chose God.

As I said, it wasn’t easy. I have been walking it out for almost 25 years, but the Lord has been with me every step of the way. I’m no longer plagued with condemnation when and if I sin, because there is no condemnation in Christ. I confess my sin, trusting that God hears me and forgives me, because this is what He has said in scripture:

“If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” 1 John 1:9

We all have to retrain our brain. The challenge is to recognize what is going through our head at any given moment. Usually the way you feel is an indication of what you are thinking about–either consciously or unconsciously. First you acknowledge it, compare it to what God says, and if it is not in line with the truth found in scripture, then stop and replace it with good word:

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me—practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.” Philippians 4:8-10 NIV

The Holy Spirit will give you the grace you need to accomplish His good work in you.

Blessings and have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

