Am I Here For A Reason?

Picture this:

You are watching the news and a story comes up about a construction worker narrowly escaping death. A crane operator was lifting a heavy steel beam up to the 20th floor when the hoist rope snaps. The steel beam speeds to the ground, where a worker is preparing to start his shift. As he recounts the events leading up to the accident, the worker tells the reporter that at just the right moment, he wonders if he left the lights on in his truck. As he turns and walks back to the street, the steel beam crashes to the ground, in the exact spot where he stood just seconds before.

“Somebody up there must like me”, he says into the mic, “God must have something special for me to do.”

How many times have we heard the phrase, “You still have purpose here. God has something special for you to do.” Or, “You are meant to do great things!”

So we picture ourselves in the future, having lived a life admired by all and recognized for our outstanding contributions to society:

As time progresses, we start wondering what that “work” is. Or we waste years seeking after the significant “thing” we are supposed to accomplish, never finding it, and slowly feeling let down by fate, destiny…or by God.

Can I tell you something?

God loves you.

Pure and simple.

He may have some special assignment with your name on it…or He may not.

The truth is the beam missed your head because God loves you and He is concerned about you. If you do nothing more than live a quiet, uneventful life, walking out  each day with God, you have significance. If you recognize that nothing you can ever do will earn you points or favor with God, but believe that He sent His Son to take away your sins, then you are pleasing in His sight.

I love my children because they are my children. They don’t have to do anything to earn my love…I just love them. I will not love them more if they accomplish great things, nor will I love them less if they lead an insignificant life based upon the world’s standards of success.

Am I pleased when they follow my advice or obey my directions? Yes, I definitely am. I may get angry when they disobey a direction, or become grieved when one of my children insists on doing something that I know to be harmful or destructive. But do I stop loving them?

Never.

Will I discipline them when necessary? Of course.

Does that discipline include letting them experience the consequences of their decisions? When it’s appropriate, yes. As I said, I love my children. Discipline and correction prove that I love them and I care about their future (Hebrews 12:6-11)

Stop judging your worth by what you do. Instead, measure it by the One who thinks so much of you, who loves you so entirely that He sent His Son to die in your place, so that you can enjoy a right, healthy and intimate relationship with God.

“So, chosen by God for this new life of love, dress in the wardrobe God picked out for you: compassion, kindness, humility, quiet strength, discipline. Be even-tempered, content with second place, quick to forgive an offense. Forgive as quickly and completely as the Master forgave you. And regardless of what else you put on, wear love. It’s your basic, all-purpose garment. 

Never be without it.

 Let the peace of Christ keep you in tune with each other, in step with each other. None of this going off and doing your own thing. And cultivate thankfulness. Let the Word of Christ—the Message—have the run of the house. Give it plenty of room in your lives. Instruct and direct one another using good common sense. And sing, sing your hearts out to God! Let every detail in your lives—words, actions, whatever—be done in the name of the Master, Jesus, thanking God the Father every step of the way.”

Colossians 3:12-17 The Message Bible

flying heart

Leave a Reply

