Be One

 When one of you says, “I am a follower of Paul,” and another says, “I follow Apollos,” aren’t you acting just like people of the world? 

After all, who is Apollos? Who is Paul? We are only God’s servants through whom you believed the Good News. Each of us did the work the Lord gave us.

I planted the seed in your hearts, and Apollos watered it, but it was God who made it grow.”

 1 Corinthians 3:4-6 New Living Translation

It is time for us to come together as the Church, as the Body of Christ, as God meant for us to be.

It doesn’t matter if one is Catholic, Methodist, denominational, non-denominational, traditional or Charismatic…

You are either a follower of Christ or you are not.

It’s that simple. 

Jesus is the head of the Church, of His body. Lordship does not belong to any human man or woman. We have to learn to lay aside our differences and focus on what we have in common: Christ.

The Lord’s desire is that we, His followers, will be one (in unity), as He and the Father are one:

“I am praying not only for these disciples but also for all who will ever believe in me through their message.  

I pray that they will all be one, just as you and I are one—as you are in me, Father, and I am in you. And may they be in us so that the world will believe you sent me. 

I have given them the glory you gave me, so they may be one as we are one. I am in them and you are in me.

May they experience such perfect unity that the world will know that you sent me and that you love them as much as you love me.”

John 17:20-23 NLT

We won’t agree on every little thing but we can agree on Truth. May our heart-cry for the church echo Paul’s words to the Ephesians:

“Therefore I, a prisoner for serving the Lord, beg you to lead a life worthy of your calling, for you have been called by God. Always be humble and gentle. Be patient with each other, making allowance for each other’s faults because of your love. Make every effort to keep yourselves united in the Spirit, binding yourselves together with peace.”

“For there is one body and one Spirit, just as you have been called to one glorious hope for the future. There is one Lord, one faith, one baptism, one God and Father of all, who is over all, in all, and living through all.”

Ephesians 4:1-6 NLT

Praying for the grace of God to bless each of us with the ability to walk these words out daily.

Blessings Church!

unity-265374_hands_union

Leave a Reply

