I Get By With A Little Help From My Friends

One of the things I really appreciate is people who pray for me.

 Friends, acquaintances, strangers…I’m grateful for them all. These are selfless individuals who interrupt their day and ask God to move and intervene on my behalf, or on behalf of someone else.

Before I became a Christian I would never have dreamed about asking someone to pray for me, even though during desperate points in my life I would quietly plead for help in the hopes that someone greater than me might be listening.

 I’m not shy about asking for help now. There are people I trust to go to God in faith and intercede for me, for my family, for our circumstances, etc. They believe like me—that God is the source of wisdom, hope and comfort. Not only do they believe that God has all the answers, they believe He is the answer in every situation.

You don’t have to know someone to pray for them- you just have to have a heart for your fellow man. I have always taken it seriously when Jesus said, Treat others the same way you want them to treat you” (Luke 6:31) and I apply it to prayer.

 If you were having a bad day (week, month, year) how would you want someone to pray for you? Think about what you would need and turn it into a prayer for someone else! Rather than gossip or post on Facebook about the stressed out mom you saw while shopping, why not pray for her? Pray for her children and her family. Ask God to bless her with peace, with wisdom and strength to raise her children. Pray that she have Godly examples and help in her life so that she won’t become just another stressed-out, hopeless victim of her circumstances. Pray that she would come to know Jesus as her Savior and that she would see her worth in His eyes.

 We are not meant to live this life alone and isolated. We need one another:

 Bear one another’s burdens, and thereby fulfill the law of Christ.” Galatians 6:2

 “…and pray for each other…” James 5:16b

 Pray for one another

 Blessings and have a prayerful day!

Leave a Reply

