Thoughts on Quiet Seasons

I’m in one of those quiet periods. Nothing much seems to be happening on the surface, but in the depths of my being, during my alone times with God, my soul is undergoing more reparative work. More cleansing. More healing.

 It’s not always comfortable or convenient—those reminders of painful times or past mistakes & missteps…the ones that have not been fully dealt with or covered by the blood of the Lamb. Things have been bubbling to the surface again- memories, wounds, anger, regret, disappointments. I have learned over the years to not stuff them down, or automatically rebuke the thoughts in a knee-jerk fashion. Instead, I bring them to God, to the foot of the cross, to the base of His throne, to His altar of burning, to His seat of mercy.

 I give it all to Him- the ugliness, the anger, the confusion, the sorrow, the pain. I confess my weakness, my inability to let go or forgive…and I ask Him for help.

Years ago I would beg and plead, wondering if He had heard me, and if so, would He be willing to show me mercy. Now I know that He is faithful. He has never failed me before. Whenever I have been unable, He is always able. He is my strength, my Helper, my Advocate, my Redeemer, my merciful Savior. He doesn’t condemn me, He simply knows what I need and He freely gives it.

 So I have learned to trust Him and go with the flow. I don’t resist His gentle conviction or hide my face from uncomfortable emotions. I love His peace and healing more than my temporary unease. He never leaves me in the condition He finds me in at those particular times. I always come through them feeling lighter, stronger, forgiven and free.

 Blessings, renewal and peace during your quiet seasons.

 My soul, wait in silence for God only,

For my hope is from Him.

He only is my rock and my salvation, My stronghold;

I shall not be shaken. On God my salvation and my glory rest;

The rock of my strength, my refuge is in God.

Psalm 62:5-7

572

2 comments

  1. dailydeposit · March 30, 2015

    This is so beautiful…… and I really needed to hear this. The quiet seasons are meant to strengthen us. Great expression! #loveit

    Like

Leave a Reply

