Are You Hurting Today?

Are you hurting today? Are you suffering in any way, whether it’s physical or emotional? Are you dealing with fear, anxiety or confusion? Broken relationships? Trauma or grief?

 If so, I want you to know I understand and have felt your pain, your anger, your anguish, your fear. Probably not exactly like you are experiencing it, but maybe in the same vein…possibly for similar reasons. I don’t know. I just know a lot of people are hurting. I’ve seen them, I’ve heard them. I read about them, I’ve talked with them. I overhear their conversations in stores and in restaurants. I have worked with some of them, attended church with some, gone to school with others.

 I have been that person…the one other people are hurting for due to a sudden, tragic loss. It’s impossible to go through life without experiencing some kind of hurt. Pain is real. Trauma happens- none of which we want for ourselves or anyone we care about and love. This world really hurts at times and it can suck the life right out of us if we don’t stop the flow.

 Being told to suck it up and deal with it has never helped anyone either, unless the issue was trivial, like your favorite do-nut shop only having cake donuts instead of glazed available the day you go.

 You can’t suck it up when a loved one dies suddenly. You can’t just “deal with it” when you are a worn-out, overburdened caregiver for a sick family member…or when your child is involved with drugs or gangs. You can’t keep going on as usual when you have seen horrible things in war, on the streets, or in your own home.

 How do we keep going and stay sane when so many things happening around us seek to kill, steal and destroy?

 There is only one way I know and it’s through Jesus. I go to Him when things are going good and I fall on my face and cry out to Him when they aren’t. Sometimes things are so hard that I call for help multiple times throughout the day and He never rejects me. He never says, “Just a minute, I have more important things to do.” He comforts me, He encourages me and He heals me. He gives me the peace I so desperately need and the wisdom to know what needs to be done in any given situation. Sometimes the only thing I hear in my spirit is, “I am faithful”, which lets me know He has heard me, He knows what to do and I just need to let Him handle it, whatever it is.

 Don’t be afraid to ask for help from God. He sees your pain, He knows how it feels and He is more than willing to help you- that’s why He sent Jesus:

 The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is upon me,

    for the Lord has anointed me

    to bring good news to the poor.
He has sent me to comfort the brokenhearted
    and to proclaim that captives will be released
    and prisoners will be freed.
 He has sent me to tell those who mourn
    that the time of the Lord’s favor has come,
    and with it, the day of God’s anger against their enemies.
To all who mourn in Israel,
    he will give a crown of beauty for ashes,
a joyous blessing instead of mourning,
    festive praise instead of despair.
In their righteousness, they will be like great oaks
    that the Lord has planted for his own glory.

 Isaiah 61: 1-3

Blessings and be made whole through Christ.

Jesus holding man

Leave a Reply

